PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Recon Paul

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 29, 2020
New Jersey, US
I have 3 briars. All cost $30 or less. Two are from crown and they are of significantly different quality despite being the same price. I assume this is because one is from a higher end line of pipes than the other?

How is Crown's overall reputation compare to Dr. Grabow? Folks always mention Grabow when talking cheap briars, but I never hear anything about crown. I got them because they were cheap. I have no experience with a Grabow.

My third briar is a Molina. It was my first pipe. I got it in a beginner kit. I figured it would be like a basket pipe, somehow defective, but still functional. That may be, the case but I sure can't tell. It far and away out-smokes the other two. When you pick it up, you can immediately feel a substantial difference in build quality compared to the two crown pipes. I see some good prices on Molinas. They strike me as a value if this one is typical, but I don't see much discussion of them. Are they a value? Is this one an anomaly?
  • Sport Rustic K6 019 - No filter
  • Jewels Black Sandblast C1384 (The better of the two crowns) - 6mm filter
  • Molina Kit pipe - 9mm filter
briars .jpeg

Wellington

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 31, 2012
I've been looking at a Molina pot straight in sandblast, from what I can find they're a good pipe for under $60, but some reviews reveal some issues here and there. I may pick one up one day, who knows.

marconi

May 17, 2019
England
Molina pipes smoke really well, becoming more popular in the EU.Quality pipes even at the lower end all Italian briar they seem to concentrate on the 9ml european market.I just bought a higher end spigot pipe, at a price well below comparable Savinelli or Peterson pipes

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
You've heard more about Grabow because they have been around forever.
I always advise new folks to smoke the best tobacco they can afford in the best pipes they can afford.