PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Briar Lee

Lifer
Sep 4, 2021
Humansville Missouri
Thanks for the synopsis I’ve realized I’m in need of a book on French history; I only know a few highlights. I enjoy those movies where the French foreign legion is in Africa.

When I graduated high school in 1976 all the world history I learned in school, ended with World War Two. After that history was considered too divisive and controversial to teach kids. Seriously.

All of us kids learned about the Holocaust but only if our parents were history addicts, did we learn about the outrageous cruelty of the French in Algeria, the Belgians in the Belgian Congo, and apartheid in South Africa.

The worst massacre the USA perpetrated against the Indians was Wounded Knee in 1890. It began when an Indian fired a rifle and about 30 USA soldiers and about 90 Lakota warriors were killed in a battle, that developed into a massacre, of as many as 250 Indian civilians.

The French torturing and murdering a few hundred civilians in Algeria wouldn’t have made the news during the Algerian War of Independence. The French made postcards of tortured Algerians. They dropped them out of helicopters. They repeatedly raped women. In all they may have murdered a million, at least hundreds of thousands. And then lost the war.

There couldn’t have been much of a briar trade in the middle of that war.

Even before the war, Robert Marx used Algerian briar but he wasn’t proud of it.

Unlike briar from other nations on the rim of the Mediterranean the Algerian product was harvested by exploited and conquered natives.

The reason it was better to smoke was likely because of the severe climate the Berbers lived in and where it grew very slowly on hillsides.

Reactions: Egg Shen

Briar Lee

Lifer
Sep 4, 2021
Humansville Missouri
I’m not sure what I am looking at, and who’s not going there? 🤔
The People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria is not on anybody’s list of modern enlightened nations.