PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jhe033

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 15, 2020
Indiana
Hello to everyone, I've been lurking for a couple weeks and catching-up on my back reading. I've been smoking for 20+ years now, and alternating between cigars and pipes. For most of that time, the cigar has been my primary focus.

Lately, I've found myself enjoying the pipe a LOT more, and my cigars sit in the humidor. I find that the pipe is a soothing friend in these interesting times, and it's been nice to putter about the yard, porch or on a walk with the dog as I relax.

I'm in the process of (re) building my cellar and restarting from scratch, as I passed all my on-stock tobacco to my dad about 10 years ago. I've now found some old friends (read blends) are no longer available, and I'm in the process of making new ones. I'm still in the 'wide' process of determining what I really want on hand, and look forward to the discovery process. I love English blends and I'm working on Burley and Virginia (sooo hot, must fix cadence). I prefer non-aromatics, but I've certainly had a few aromatics I enjoy.

So that's me in a nutshell. I look forward to talking all things pipe with folks.

Thanks,

Jeff

Reactions: peregrinus

jhe033

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 15, 2020
Indiana
Well, some of them can be found via overseas orders, now that this fine site has acquainted me with Estervals.

With that said, I used to readily find blends like Old Ironsides, Frog Mortons and Robert McConnell at the local B&Ms. In my time away, my preferred B&M closed-up, and my backup B&M's pipe tobacco stock is 'ehh', as they focus on cigars.

So, it's more a matter of finding new favorites, which isn't the worst problem to have at the moment. I've got the following incoming in the post:

PS LNF, LBF and LTF, also Cube Cut
Match Presbyterian, B.S.O.M and Elizabethan
MacBaren 7 Seas Royal
Erinmore
Samuel Gawith Hansom Flake