PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Zamora

Can't Leave
Mar 15, 2023
Olympia, Washington
I had a Stillwell Star Bayou and I found it to be a decent Nicaraguan stick but I couldn't taste any of the Virginia or Perique in it. I'm still pretty new to pipe smoking and even newer to VaPers and I'm wondering if I should've waited longer before trying it. Has anybody had anything from Stillwell Star? I'm curious if the pipe tobaccos in them really make a difference or it's just a marketing gimmick. Don't get me wrong I thought the Bayou was a good smoke, just not worth the $20 I paid for it.

pantsBoots

Lifer
Jul 21, 2020
Terra Firma
It's a gimmick and way overpriced at that. You've got to stop and think - if cigar and pipe tobacco work well together, why hasn't that been extensively marketed through the years? I posit because it doesn't work, according to the market's tastes.

For me, cigars and pipes are very different experiences and I have very, very rarely smoked cigars and pipes on the same day - each seems to prime my palate in a different direction so I'll pick one and that's what I'm having that day.

Jan 30, 2020
New Jersey
I had the Navy and enjoyed it. Performed well, had a long burn time and overall was pleased with it.

As someone who smokes a handful of cigars a year, I'd smoke one again.

kcghost

Lifer
May 6, 2011
Olathe, Kansas
Never heard of Stillwell cigars but you paid a hefty price for it. There are very few cigars that are used in pipe tobaccos, but there are a few. I think as inexperienced as you are you ought to just sort out what you like about pipes and what you like about cigars and don't confuse the two.

Reactions: pantsBoots

Zamora

Can't Leave
Mar 15, 2023
Olympia, Washington
It's a gimmick and way overpriced at that. You've got to stop and think - if cigar and pipe tobacco work well together, why hasn't that been extensively marketed through the years? I posit because it doesn't work, according to the market's tastes.