PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

jhe033

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 15, 2020
Indiana
So, I was chatting with my father a few weeks back about getting a meer, and he pops up from his seat, disappears into his den, and returns with a lovely billiard meer. He insisted I take it and one doesn’t argue with him.

Anyway, I give it a thorough cleaning, though it seems very lightly smoked, and throw some SWR into it for an initial break in. Now I suspect this hasn’t been smoked in 30 years, as he has over 100 pipes and I’ve never seen it.

From first puff I’m overwhelmed with this heavy floral almost violet/lavender ghost...I cannot place it or do it justice. I tried a few other blends and it simply won’t go away.

As I’m new to meers, any advice? Do I persist and smoke through it. Is there a recommended deep clean for these? I want to ask what he smoked in the damn thing, but don’t want to seem critical, so I’ve held off. Thoughts?

Reactions: jpmcwjr

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA
So, I was chatting with my father a few weeks back about getting a meer, and he pops up from his seat, disappears into his den, and returns with a lovely billiard meer. He insisted I take it and one doesn’t argue with him.

Anyway, I give it a thorough cleaning, though it seems very lightly smoked, and throw some SWR into it for an initial break in. Now I suspect this hasn’t been smoked in 30 years, as he has over 100 pipes and I’ve never seen it.

From first puff I’m overwhelmed with this heavy floral almost violet/lavender ghost...I cannot place it or do it justice. I tried a few other blends and it simply won’t go away.

As I’m new to meers, any advice? Do I persist and smoke through it. Is there a recommended deep clean for these? I want to ask what he smoked in the damn thing, but don’t want to seem critical, so I’ve held off. Thoughts?