PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

bersekero

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 29, 2023
Greece
I always start cheap. That is common logic. I need to see if a new hobby, sport, interest, experience is right for me.

Then I associate with experienced people and become a member of a nice forum and here we go. Forums are a real disaster. They drain your pocket.

Quality aka expensive equipment works better. That is true with all my other activities and in general. Road bikes, road running shoes, mountain running shoes, trekking shoes or boots, fishing rods, airguns, bows, r/c airplanes.

When I started pipe smoking 25 years ago, I bought some basket pipes. I quit shortly maybe because I never had someone to teach me how to smoke.

Now I found this place and, in a few weeks, I bought a MM cob, a Chacom, a Savinelli, a Dunhill, a Radice and a Castello. In that order. I still have the old Fe.ro.

Long story short I almost always reach for the expensive pipes. As a newbie I am not in the position to appreciate and tell which smokes the best but I certainly like the pricey ones much more.

So, do expensive pipes really smoke better?

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK
Not as a rule. No. More costly pipes maybe better made, have precious metal attachments, feel better in the fist, fit one's eye and such. Certain brands have "wide open" draws. That's a plus to some. Others are drawn by workman ship, detail, tighter draw, and so forth. Some prefer a thin, well cut bit. Others simply stick the pipe in their maw, clench it and enjoy. You've asked a question which is unanswerable. It's a personal choice, to buy a pipe. You'll discover what you seek in a pipe as you gain experience.

burleybreath

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 29, 2019
Finger Lakes area, New York, USA