PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

ParkitoATL

Can't Leave
Mar 11, 2023
Atlanta, GA
Sometimes you hear people talking about the "Burley Bite." What seems to be more common is to hear about "Virginia Bite." When I first made the switch from cigars to pipes about eight months ago (man, have I smoked some bowls since then!) I found that burleys seemed more agreeable to me and Virginias tended to bite. Over the last few months I have really grown to love Virginias and am now finding that Burleys are too harsh and alkaline for my tastes!

Has anyone else experienced a similar evolution in their tastes? I keep reaching for the Virginia flakes and some VaBurs that are light on the Burley because Burleys keep tearing up my mouth. I have been smoking an average of two bowls a day for eight months now. Weekends are often 4-5 bowls a day. Maybe I just need to take a few days off. :-o

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I've always been a burley devotee. I seem to tolerate its edge with ease with most burley leaf. Lately I've come around to some real enthusiasm for Virginia blends, notably lately Esoterica Tilbury with burley as a condiment and SH&Co's Squadron Leader special edition with Perique.

I'm glad to not completely miss the Virginia blend parade. And I still love that burley. Peterson Irish Flake and 3-P, GLP Barbary Coast, and so many others,

Skippy B. Coyote

Can't Leave
Jun 19, 2023
St. Paul, MN
I've never had Burley blends or red Virginias bite me, for me it's always been just the bright Virginias. Everyone's mouth chemistry is a little different though and I wouldn't be surprised if it can change a little over time.