PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

tobakenist

Lifer
Jun 16, 2011
Middle England
I have two high end Peterson pipes that my late Wife bought me that have burn outs within the bowl, they have been in storage for a few years and only noticed the hot spots lately and you can only return them to Peterson for a burn out within a year of purchase. Does anyone know if there is a filler that can be used to fill the burn holes ? I have been smoking Petersons for 50 years and never had this problem, a bad batch of briar or bad workmanship ? I don't know but I would love the save these pipes.

AJL67

Lifer
May 26, 2022
Florida - Space Coast
I have two high end Peterson pipes that my late Wife bought me that have burn outs within the bowl, they have been in storage for a few years and only noticed the hot spots lately and you can only return them to Peterson for a burn out within a year of purchase. Does anyone know if there is a filler that can be used to fill the burn holes ? I have been smoking Petersons for 50 years and never had this problem, a bad batch of briar or bad workmanship ? I don't know but I would love the save these pipes.
I am sure people will give you great advice on filling them and bringing new life to them, but if they were mine and had that much sentimental value (which i think is awesome really awesome) and let's face it could afford it, i would send them out to someone like Rich and have them professional done.

Obviously it depends on the burnouts and all, pics might help the guys here, many of whom do restorations, give you proper advice.

tobakenist

Lifer
Jun 16, 2011
Middle England
I am sure people will give you great advice on filling them and bringing new life to them, but if they were mine and had that much sentimental value (which i think is awesome really awesome) and let's face it could afford it, i would send them out to someone like Rich and have them professional done.