PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

karam

Lifer
Feb 2, 2019
Basel, Switzerland
I am slowly but surely falling under the Virginia spell.
F&T Cut Virginia Plug seems to be more lauded here, but given the option my first dip in the F&T pool was the apparently stronger brother, Cut Blended Plug.
I have had this tin for a week or so, and had five flakes so far, will surely be more. In fact I haven’t been excited with a tobacco since having Ascanian No2, notwithstanding Synjeco’s brilliant Holker Twist. 5 flakes is usually too soon to consider writing up, but each smoke has been identical so i have no reason to expect surprises from this blend.

The elegant tin contains perfectly formed Kohlhase & Kopp flakes, mostly shades of brown with a few black and a few bright strands. They smell like sweet bread with the tiniest hint of spice. Closer to the nose brings some grass and wood. Wood is not something i often associated with Virginia but I am not an expert at all in the genre. It is like pleasant dry wood shavings, like a carpenter’s shop, not the raw oak of ODF, or the sourness of some DFK bombs I’ve had. Both spice and wood carry in the smoke.

The flakes do need some drying, had them within 1 hour from the tin or overnight drying to a crisp and rubbing them out. Had them folded and stuffed, cube cut, the name of the game is consistency, this tobacco behaves and tastes very consistently throughout the bowl, regardless of the prep.

Taste is great, really great. Quite sweet on lighting up, almost aromatic sweet for me, but it subsides fairly quickly without going away. I got a lot of hints of cinnamon, wood, body, sweetness of raisin bread. The main point is that the taste is consistent, reasonably strong, and very enjoyable. That’s it, no more no less. Very enjoyable, next one up will be Cut Virginia Plug.

9C0848FB-ABF2-4D31-8444-B0B0EF09ECDA.jpeg

beef

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 10, 2021
Ontario