PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

chopper

Lifer
Aug 24, 2019
Just dropped by to say g'day from Australia.
There's over 30 pipes in my rotation, from a Peterson Sherlock Holmes to 100yo antique briars that were NOS, to 3 MM cobs.
Tobacco is extremely expensive here. Thanks to indexed tax hikes every six months, 50 grams of tobacco will be $100 by years end.
I've been smoking a pipe for over 8 years. Thanks to plain packaging choice of blends here is extremely limited, most of which are mediocre.

After discovering the wonderful world of on-line tobacconists, I've now got over 30 blends from which to choose.

On July 1st the laws were toughened re; importing tobacco without a license.
U.S. Customs has joined the party by cracking down on on-line tobacconists. Up until July 1st my seller would declare my order as Hobby Supplies [Well, pipe smoking is my hobby]. Now U.S. Customs insist that every item be listed for what it is; tobacco.
Up until 18 months ago, I had not ever tried anything other than aromatics.

My tobacco rotation now consists of PS Navy Flake & Bullseye Flake, mild English blends such as Sutliff EMP Match, London Squire, Revelation, Carter Hall and a 50/50 mix of Holiday Match/302 Modern English.

Tinned blends such as MacBaren Plumcake, SPC Plum Pudding & Mississippi River I've got in short supply so I smoke one small bowl a day to make them last a while.
Before the new Customs laws came into effect I bought pound bags of Latakia, Perique, Oriental and Black Cavendish that I intend to blend with homegrown Virginia & Burley to make kake when my supplies start to run low.

mikethompson

Lifer
Jun 26, 2016
Near Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Welcome to the forums! I have many happy memories of visiting Australia 12 years ago. We saw Sydney, Uluru, Cairns, and the coast around Brisbane. I proposed to my wife down there too. What part are you in?