PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Briarcutter

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 17, 2023
U.S.A.
You may consider using a bench grinder and adaptors to mount wheels. 1725RPM Is a pretty good speed. What ever you use you'll need one wheel to apply the wax and another clean wheel to remove excess and polish. I use 6X1 buffs. I've never used a buff as pictured but it may work for you.

captpat

Lifer
Dec 16, 2014
North Carolina
To apply carnauba you'll want a stiffer wheel to apply the wax, for bench grinders they are sometimes called "stitched" wheels. A fluffy wheel is used to polish after the wax application. Stitched wheels are also used if you need to buff ebonite stems. I use a Foredom bench grinder for my polishing needs, a drill press might work at a slow speed <1700 RPM.

Sigmund

Lifer
Sep 17, 2023
France
Horrible freight sells cheap bench grinders/buffers. Ive been using one for almost 20 years. Some of their stuff works fine.

Briarcutter

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 17, 2023
U.S.A.
I didn't realize you had to polish the wax. I polish the pipe and then wax it. That's all the instructing I found for buffing pipes online.
Yes, you have to "polish" the wax. I really load up the wax wheel with carnuba, wax the pipe,then it looks milky and dull. Then with a clean soft wheel the the magic begins. Start off with junker pipes till you get the hang of it, there is a learning curve. Those wheels can grab a pipe right out of your hand in a fraction of a second, always with results you don't want😫

Apr 6, 2024
Marchand, Manitoba, Canada
Yes, you have to "polish" the wax. I really load up the wax wheel with carnuba, wax the pipe,then it looks milky and dull. Then with a clean soft wheel the the magic begins. Start off with junker pipes till you get the hang of it, there is a learning curve. Those wheels can grab a pipe right out of your hand in a fraction of a second, always with results you don't want😫