PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

captainFrank

Lurker
Apr 6, 2024
Hi everyone,

I'm new to pipe smoking. Have just received a brand new Savinelli Avorio rusticated and the stem was reeeaaally tight. After repeated twisting and pulling, and some elbow grease eventually managed to get the stem out for inspection and cleaning before lighting the pipe up for the very first time.

However, when I attempted to insert the stem back ... the shank cracked in 3 places. Two hairline cracks joined about 1/4" down the shank, basically forming a "U" shape (now I know that I should have sanded down the tennon before attempting re-insertion but, oh well ... beginner's costly mistake). No chipping though.

After 15 minutes of dispair and utter missery I reached out to my very thin super glue and applied to all those cracks (being so thin, it was sucked up immediately due to capilarity). After letting it sit for a bit a bit, I re-inserted the stem, which went in without much resistance this time however, the cracks did opened up a tinny, tinny bit. Next I applied a shightly thicker super glue over those cracks and have let it cure.

There is a good chance that some glue will end up on the tennon, inside the shank ... which means I'll never be able to remove it. Based on your experience, how big of an issue is that ? I am not concerned about cleaning part (which I'm sure I can still do it properly) as with the possbility of the shank cracking again due to potential expansion when heated.

Since I've haven't smoked it yet, I am not attached to this pipe but it would be great if I could still smoked it for a while, which would diminish somehow the pain of throwing $100+ bucks down the drain.

Many thanks for your time !

Reactions: newbroom

Hillcrest

Lifer
Dec 3, 2021
Bagshot Row, Hobbiton