PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bdstansel

Starting to Get Obsessed
Has anyone tried Low Country Tobacco?
I happened upon these while browsing at smokingpipes.com...I did a few searches on these forums and couldn't find any mentions (then being a newbie, I don't know if I have full user rights here yet or a lite version). Apologies if this topic has already been started.
I'd be tempted to try them based upon the name alone. Wife and I visited the "Low Country" area of SC (Beaufort, HHI, Charleston, etc.) last year and simply fell in love with it down there. It's quaint Southern charm, historical buildings, large old oaks with Spanish moss...we walked the quiet streets where part of the movie "Forrest Gump" was filmed.
OK, I know it's a stretch but if the Low Country Tobacco could somehow evoke some of my memories of that wonderful area, I'd be all over it but in the interim I'll defer to the knowledge base in this forum. Anyone tried them?
Thanks in advance,

Bruce

lestrout

Lifer
Jan 28, 2010
Chester County, PA
The 2 I have are Cooper and Waccamaw. I've been getting into flakes and these 2 are likely to be in my Top100 cellar. There are not many Latakia flakes, and Cooper differs from the Latbombs (Old Ironsides, Bengal Slices, Penzance, I suppose Pirate Kake, Lancer's Slices) in that it's lighter and more complex. It reminds me more of Holly's Discovery and Star of the East Flake. It's not as light as Germain's Special Lat Flake or Brebbia's No.9. It has more Latakia character that SG Navy Flake and Anniversary.
Waccamaw reminds me of Red Carpet, though I think of it as mainly a VA.
hp

les

reichenbach

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 5, 2012
West Park, NY
I'm with you in that I like to research everything before I buy it but if you have a sentimental connection to a place or concept, then go for it. Just make sure that the blend's contents are something you enjoy. I also love Charleston.