Meerschaum pipe, any info would be helpful.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Honest-D

Lurker
Mar 8, 2023
Hi,

I found myself with a meerschaum pipe that I know little about. I intend to clean it up, or have it serviced and restored. The stem is missing, and there is no threading. The wind-cap and loop for lanyard are in good and working order.

I looked for any seams, and found none, also, I found no burned out areas in the bowl which has been used a bit. I used .99 silver to scratch an out of the way, non-waxed area and found no marking left behind. The bowl was grippy to a wet finger. I am no expert, and would appreciate any input on the pipe.

Having seen similar carvings on similar style pipes, featuring either a hound, horse, soldier, stag or similar structure in the relief carving of the surrounding landscape, I was wonder if it is contemporary to those pipes.

Any thoughts appreciated, photos are below.

Thanks.
III.pngV.jpgIV.jpgI.jpg

Jun 9, 2015
Mission, Ks
Late 19th c to early 20th c Austrian Meer, petty common. Having a new stem made is not a huge deal. I made normal and a wiechsel stem for a similar pipe not to long ago.

Making a Weichsel Stem for a Kalmasch. :: Pipe Repair and Maintenance - https://pipesmagazine.com/forums/threads/making-a-weichsel-stem-for-a-kalmasch.96904/

Apr 26, 2012
Washington State
Ok, I went and looked. It's a different pipe in another thread but similar looking. Like the other pipe; this pipe appears to be a Lap-style pipe bowl with a bas-relief-carved scene, with wind-cap. It potentially dates back to the late 1800's and is most likely from Austria.

Reactions: anotherbob

Honest-D

Lurker
Mar 8, 2023
Thank you for your time.

I was able to find some similar items, in these forums and otherwise online, but, I had not come across one where the character in relief was having a pint.