PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Sidehatch

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 30, 2022
Colorado
So I goofed and made a post in a wrong thread about a current eBay auction. Im reposting as a new thread to get some input from those in the know. Long story short I check eBay when I’m bored at work and found a birth year dunhill. It blew my mind to see its priced over 500 bucks already. I’m very new to pipes and have no idea what a pipe like this should cost. Ultimately the value lies in whatever someone is willing to spend on something. But what are some thoughts on a fair price for this pipe?1644103972779.jpeg

Reactions: jpmcwjr and Laurent

Sidehatch

Jan 30, 2022
Colorado
I agree my friend but I’ve never bought a pipe at this price point either. I reckon what’s the point. It’s like buying a sports car and looking at it in garage.

Reactions: Laurent
Dec 3, 2021
Pennsylvania & New York
I may be the last person to listen to; as a book collector and toy collector, I'm something of a preservationist. If something survives in unused, pristine condition for forty, or fifty years, or more, I'm more likely to keep it that way. My thinking is once you smoke something that old that's unused, all you've done is turn it into another used pipe. It was more special and unique unused.

It depends on if you want a smoking pipe or a sculpture. I have some unsmoked pipes in original packaging that I'll leave unsmoked. There are probably better things to invest in if you're just going to put it on a shelf.

That pipe is in nice shape, but I saw nothing to suggest it was unsmoked. I have no qualms about smoking a used pipe. I'd light that puppy up and enjoy it.

Sidehatch

Jan 30, 2022
Colorado