Taxes/IRS Make Me Want to Blow my Brains Out!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Title edited. Rule 9.
You have options:
1.) Just get a decent accountant.
2.) Focus on the fact that if you didn't have that much income, you wouldn't have to pay taxes.
3.) The anguish you express and hours spent make an accountant cheaper.
Good luck!

There I said it! WARNING!!! Rant coming! - I have been working on taxes for 9 hours this weekend!! 9 F-ing hours! I'm a normal working guy. Mostly earned income and I was fortunate to get some stock options that vested in the black for the past couple years and JMJ the tracking and entry into turbotax is agonizing! I have a freaking Phd in chemistry at the top of my class and I am no a dummy but the freaking cryptic instructions, IRS/turbotax system, the AMT, OMG.
I am still not done after 9 hours! YES YES I AM TOO CHEAP TO PAY AN ACCOUNTANT!!! I grew up poor as a church mouse and I pride myself on my abilities to "do it myself". But for F-sake it shouldn't be this convoluted. It took me forever last year too and my state and federal return from 2022 is 232 pages long!!!!! 232 F-ing pages!!!!! Seriously! That's F-d up! I actually used to rather enjoy doing my taxes but not anymore. I don't even mind paying taxes (except that most the money is wasted on BS) but this system is brutal. I wish Forbes was elected years ago and his flat tax proposal took hold. No more IRS just pay a percentage on what you make on earned income and stocks, real estate etc. But noooooo then the loopholes for the ultra rich disappear. Oh wait - the ultra rich run the system - ie senators, presidents, CEOs, etc. I'm a fool to expect such rational thought to take hold. Greed rules after all. As the great Eddie Vedder wrote, "It's a mystery to me...we have a GREED to which we have agreed."

Sorry, that's my rant - I'm done. Time for a Manhattan.

Last edited by a moderator:

scloyd

Lifer
May 23, 2018