PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Bbailey324

Lifer
Jun 29, 2023
Austin, TX
I generally use a drill bit as a pin gauge to measure a draft hole. Find one that is a snug fit and that is about the diameter.

I use carnauba wax on pipes but I do have a buffer. Not sure it would work well by hand. I'm not sure what would work best for that.

simong

Lifer
Oct 13, 2015
UK
Renaissance wax is easy to get off eBay. There’s a firm in Yorkshire that have little sample tins ‘free of charge’. I used to buy my micro mesh pads off them as well.

drill bits for measuring hole size.

Dec 10, 2013
Nijmegen, the Netherlands
How different is Renaissance wax from Paragon or Halcyon? Supplies of the latter two seem to have dwindled—I don’t know if the maker went out of business, died, or what.
Search me; never used P. or H. since it is not available this end of the world.
Very expensive too . A while ago I studied the product sheet and to me it is approx. the same as Ren.
If memory serves Ren. wax even has a higher melting point .
It works fine for me on both smoothies and rusticated or blasted. A tin ( almost literally ) lasts forever.
Not a clue what happened to the maker of P. and H.
I've been hunting for a jar of Swiss pipe maker Roman Peter "Pfeifenwachs " for a while now.
So far to no avail.

Dec 3, 2021
Pennsylvania & New York
Search me; never used P. or H. since it is not available this end of the world.
Very expensive too . A while ago I studied the product sheet and to me it is approx. the same as Ren.
If memory serves Ren. wax even has a higher melting point .
It works fine for me on both smoothies and rusticated or blasted. A tin ( almost literally ) lasts forever.
Not a clue what happened to the maker of P. and H.
I've been hunting for a jar of Swiss pipe maker Roman Peter "Pfeifenwachs " for a while now.
So far to no avail.