Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dudditz

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 3, 2021
New Jersey
I apologize if this has been asked before somewhere and I missed it. I looked. What is the deal with the Esoterica blends and the "mystique" behind them? I am at a disadvantage here admittedly as I am a newbie and have never tried any of them. But it seems from what little I think I know is that they are hard to come by, in everyone's rotation somehow and expensive when you can find them.

Is it the taste? Are they THAT GOOD? I get it, that's subjective. Again, I have never tried any, so therein may be my answer.

Is it because they are scarce and that makes them alluring in some way?

Do you experienced members feel it is worth the effort to go on the "Grail Quest" for this stuff?

Dudditz

Jun 3, 2021
New Jersey
I managed to pick up a few tins of some Eso. And Germains at my local B&M, but I wasn't on the quest for any. Also I haven't even gotten around to smoking them yet. I'm far from experienced but an answer to your question is no. There's so much that is available and also good that hunting down these rare tobaccos seems almost trivial.
Gotcha. Thank you very much for your opinion. That's the kind of info I am looking for!

Reactions: hoosierpipeguy
Aug 1, 2012
They are rather nice, solid blends and I do find some of them worth searching for. Now, paying the exorbitant prices for them on the secondary market is not worth it to me. They are findable in good b&m shops and I stock up when I find them.

They also make for good trading stock and some easily liquidated funds for emergencies.

ChuckMijo

Sep 26, 2020
They are rather nice, solid blends and I do find some of them worth searching for. Now, paying the exorbitant prices for them on the secondary market is not worth it to me. They are findable in good b&m shops and I stock up when I find them.