PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam Gamgee

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 24, 2022
DFW, Texas
Over the past few years I've grown to really love podcasts. It's actually pretty amazing what's out there to enjoy and get lost in, and the fact that it's free makes it even more mind-blowing. I used to enjoy radio shows in the 80s and 90s, and when a topic of interest came up it was always very exciting. Nowadays, you can tune in to ONLY topics that interest you via podcast.

It would be fun to see what you are listening to. Here is my list:

1 - JOCKO PODCAST
Retired Navy SEAL and overall badass/cool dude Jocko Willink. Long-form podcast that deals with leadership, war, evil, and personal growth. I've learned a lot from this guy. Highly recommended.

2 - IT'S GOOD TO BE A MAN
Michael Foster, young-ish Reformed Ohio pastor. I'm just getting into this one and binging on old episodes. Looks like it might've ended last summer. Lots of great common sense content for Christian men.

3 - THE FAMILYMAN WITH TODD WILSON
Dad-related, mostly light-hearted. I've been listening to this show for over ten years.

4 - SOCRATES IN THE CITY
Eric Metaxas hosts interviews with writers/thinkers. Mostly cultural and historical analysis from a Christian perspective. Lots of smart folks featured. I just try to keep up.

5 - THE ART OF MANLINESS
Brett McKay hosts. Young-ish, great guy. Tons of helpful and practical topics. I don't listen to all of what he drops but some of it I find extremely valuable.

6 - COWBOY CROSSROADS
Hosted by cowboy songster Andy Hedges, a really great guy. "My heroes have always been cowboys." Enough said. This is an excellent podcast that showcases a much different way of life than most Americans know or have known. Features cowboy poets, cowboy singers, ranchers, writers, photographers, etc. It's been going for a good while. Great binge material here. Recommended.

7 - HAIR METAL MEMORIES