PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rd02sir

Can't Leave
Nov 1, 2011
So this is my part 2 to BigVans review of Dr. Grabow. This is my first real review on a pipe and, as some of you already know, I'm a novice piper, so I thought it would be cool to get a green horns perspective on things. I smoked the Grabow about a half dozen times and the Parker about a dozen.
SO we will start with the Grabow
e6bfdbf4.jpg

65e9fd16.jpg

17dc1d41.jpg

edc3d995.jpg

9f0051db.jpg

Because this was received already used, I couldnt get a feel for it in the package, but by reading the description from BigVan, I had a general idea.
First thing I noticed when I picked it up was the weight. It is quite heavy for the size, which makes me believe that the wood was not aged very long, still containing moisture. I look down the bowl and inspect the draft hole, looks to be in some what proper location with the draft hold a millimeter or two off the very bottom.
Inspecting the bowl, it seems like there was a precarb on it. Looking at the outside of the pipe, the rustication, to me, seems a bit ugly. You can see where the tool was spinning unevenly, meaning that its not a very even "gouge". The metal ring around the stem where the shank meets is a nice touch though. The shank is shiny with what I'm guessing is their logo. The bit seems a bit rough and unrefined. When in my mouth, the bit seems to be quite thick and bulky, and the button is a bit rough around the edges. It clenched pretty well, and I for see long use out of it because of the thickness, you won't be biting through anytime soon.
Moving to the inner workings, it is a filtered pipe, using an aluminum tenon to hold the Medico pipe filter. The stem hole is drilled like a square, which is kind of odd to me. The draw is quite good, not too restrictive with a filter inside, and a bit less than a wide open draw.
First smoke is with a filter.