PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

isteen

Might Stick Around
Jan 31, 2010
Denmark
Just got some, and I can already admit that I'll never be a fan of the stuff.

Weird taste af raisins and sugar.

ohin3

Lifer
Jun 2, 2010
I have been a fan of all forms of tobacco at one time or another. The pipe is the only thing that stuck. I started chewing when I was a wee lad while hunting with dad and brother and other manly men he he. One of those "chew this boy, it will put hair on your chest and make a man out of you" sort of things. As I grew up I graduated to mass marketed snuff like chewing tobacco like Copenhagen. Then back to long cut, then on to high quality long cut, then to plugs, the occasional cigar, a brief bout with cigarettes, then the pipe and then a turn into the land of high quality snuff like Fribourg and Treyer Bordeaux, macouba, high dry toast...etc. Now I just smoke a pipe and every once in a while have a good cigar or a nice pinch of snuff. I haven't chewed in a long time, but I do remember that the higher quality chewing tobacco was much much better than the mass produced stuff.

bubbadreier

Lifer
Jul 30, 2010
Norman, Oklahoma
I tried it a few time, but every time I did I felt sick afterwards. Not "I am going to throw up" sick just an uncomfortable feeling in my stomach. Same thing with dipping tobacco, always a sick feeling. I guess my body just doesn't like it at all.

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
I used to use plug tobacco "Red Bull", but I haven't seen it in a very long time.

Good stuff, but I have always preferred my pipes.
I sometimes use "Twists"-"Sunberry"when my pipe is not an option. e.g. on a long flight.

dudleydipstick

Can't Leave
Dec 13, 2009
Steen,
Don't be discouraged; not all chews are created equal and it sounds like you've gotten a hold of a brand that doesn't agree with you.